New York employers should start making preparations as soon as possible to abide by the Act's new provisions, including the new notice, wage statement, and record retention requirements.
We previously reported that then-New York Governor David Paterson signed the Wage Theft Prevention Act (the “Act”) into law in a public ceremony on December 13, 2010. The Act states that it shall take effect 120 days after it is signed into law, and we therefore reported that it became effective on April 12, 2011. However, Governor Paterson apparently signed the Act twice—privately on December 10, 2010, and then during a public ceremony on December 13. The effective date for the Act is 120 days from the date it was first signed. Accordingly, New York employers must abide by the Act’s new provisions, including the new notice, wage statement, and record retention requirements by April 9, 2011.
Click here for a link to our previous alert, which explained the various changes made to the New York Labor Law by the Wage Theft Prevention Act.
The foregoing has been prepared for the general information of clients and friends of the firm. It is not meant to provide legal advice with respect to any specific matter and should not be acted upon without professional counsel. If you have any questions or require any further information regarding these or other related matters, please contact your regular Nixon Peabody LLP representative. This material may be considered advertising under certain rules of professional conduct.