2020 Esports & Gaming Symposium



Date: November 10, 2020

Time: 9:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m. Pacific

Location: Virtual Event

Contact: Kristen DeCandia
kdecandia@nixonpeabody.com
617-345-1232

Esports and gaming became even greater household staples in 2020. As the popularity of esports and gaming grows exponentially, companies must also level-up their legal compliance. Join Nixon Peabody’s Esports & Gaming Group’s one-of-a-kind, two-day (11/10 and 11/17) virtual symposium covering the biggest legal issues in esports and gaming. Each session touches on a salient topic specific to the industry. These sessions will not be recorded, so reserve your spot today!

Tuesday, November 10

9:00 a.m. PT
12:00 p.m. ET

Intellectual Property — The Video Game Clone Wars: From Flattery to Copyright Infringement.
Jason Kunze
This educational seminar will examine copyright law through the lens of video game disputes.

10:15 a.m. PT
1:15 p.m. ET

Labor & Employment — A Worker by Any Other Name Is an Employee?
Benjamin Kim and Irene Scholl-Tatevosyan
This session will cover recent changes to the U.S. Department of Labor proposed rule regarding classifying workers as employees or independent contractors, the employee-friendly ABC Test in California and other states, and key takeaways for an industry heavily reliant on contracting labor.

11:30 a.m. PT
2:30 p.m. ET

Consumer Entertainment: Trends, COVID-19 Impacts, and Video and Gaming Consumption in the Battle for Attention and Engagement.
Deloitte Consulting LLP; Doug Van Dyke, J.D. Tengberg, Stephen Bradley
Using insights collected from Deloitte’s TMT Digital Media Trends survey, 14th edition, this session will discuss current trends in consumer expectations and behaviors and what they may mean for the industry.

Tuesday, November 17

9:00 a.m. PT
12:00 p.m. ET

Entertainment — Level Up: Legal Implications of Monetization.
Anais Masiello
This session will touch on those new monetization opportunities we’ve seen unfold in the last six months and the potential legal issues and implications of each, including common contractual protections, license terms, and pitfalls.

10:15 a.m. PT
1:15 p.m. ET

Regulatory/Litigation — Avoiding Game Over: Strategic Planning and Risk Mitigation for Competitive Gaming Platforms
John Eden and Christopher Queenin
This session will cover some of the legal considerations for traditional esports tournaments and casual competitive gaming products.

11:30 a.m. PT
2:30 p.m. ET

COVID-19 Considerations  Mitigating and Managing Reopening Risks in the Esports & Gaming Industry.
Carolyn Nussbaum, Bruce Copeland, and Vincent Tennant
This session will discuss the practical and business considerations of COVID-19 exculpatory clauses—waivers, releases, assumptions of risk, and indemnity clauses—for live events and reopenings.

Back to top