Russia-Ukraine Crisis: Latest Developments in US and EU Export Controls and Sanctions



Date: March 10, 2022

Time: 12:00–1:30 p.m. EST
8:00–9:30 p.m. MSK
9:00–10:30 a.m. PST

Location: ZOOM Presentation

Contact: Kandace London
klondon@nixonpeabody.com
213-629-6119

We are tracking the dramatic developments on the ground in Ukraine and the severe US and EU sanctions looming against Russia.

Join us for a discussion on the latest export controls and sanctions developments on March 10. We will not only address the latest Russia sanctions developments, but also the other important changes to the EAR from recent months, as well as new OFAC enforcement cases.

Additionally, Matthias Merz from the German law firm AWB will provide an essential overview of EU export controls, the latest EU embargo updates on Russia and parts of the Ukraine, and what exporters in North America and elsewhere should know about the latest developments.

U.S. Export Controls

  • The latest Russia sanctions developments
  • Stricter EAR controls and sanctions directed at China, Russia, Belarus, Burma, Cambodia, and Venezuela
  • New sanctions guidance regarding Hong Kong and cryptocurrency
  • Recent CCL changes and updates to the Foreign Direct Product Rule
  • Key export enforcement cases and trends

German and EU Export Controls

  • Key overview and legal framework in the EU—Regulations/Directives
  • National export controls law, especially on military goods and sanctions law
  • Fundamental differences between the US and EU export controls laws
  • Latest EU sanctions on Russia, Crimea, and parts of the Ukraine
  • Examples on prohibited items for imports and exports, listed entities, banks, and persons
  • Key elements of an internal compliance program (ICP)

Join us for an update on the recent changes and what exporting businesses should now consider.

Back to top