Women’s History Month: A conversation with Shabana Basij-Rasikh, SOLA | School of Leadership, Afghanistan



Date: March 15, 2022

Time: 2:00–3:00 p.m. EDT
1:00–2:00 p.m. CDT
11:00 a.m.–noon PDT

Location: ZOOM Presentation (access instructions emailed upon registration)

Contact: Brian R. Hall
bhall@nixonpeabody.com
212-224-6398

In celebration of Women’s History Month, we are proud to present a conversation featuring Shabana Basij-Rasikh, the founder of SOLA | School of Leadership, Afghanistan, and a Washington Post contributor.

Our discussion will spotlight Shabana’s heroic life story growing up under Taliban rule, and her unprecedented efforts in forming SOLA, the first and only boarding school for Afghan girls. We will also learn more about Shabana’s epic experience in Kabul last August, as she watched the Taliban regain control of Afghanistan, and in the height of the country’s mass exodus, how SOLA evacuated over 200 students, faculty and family members to safety.

As she continues to make history, we will learn what is next for Shabana, and for SOLA’s efforts. We will find out what their plans are to continue the mission of educating Afghan girls, and how you can get involved.

To learn more about the organization in advance our conversation, please visit sola-afghanistan.org. And you may also read a powerful 2021 timeline from Shabana’s blog detailing the courageous escape of her and her students to safety.

Speakers

  • Shabana Basij-Rasikh
    Founder, SOLA | School of Leadership, Afghanistan
  • Courtney New
    Counsel, Nixon Peabody LLP
Back to top