NP Celebrates Pride



Date: June 22, 2022

Time: 1:00–2:00 p.m. Eastern
12:00–1:00 p.m. Central
10:00–11:00 a.m. Pacific

Location: Zoom Presentation (access instructions emailed upon registration)

Contact: Brian R. Hall
bhall@nixonpeabody.com
212-224-6398

Nixon Peabody has teamed with local ACLU chapters in Idaho, Iowa, and Montana on important cases affirming the rights of transgender people.

These landmark victories are creating positive impact now, and they’ll provide a blueprint for future action as more states consider legislation designed to undermine trans rights.

In celebration of Pride, join us June 22 for a virtual panel discussion focused on the continuing fight for equality for our transgender friends and neighbors. Nixon Peabody attorney Julia Casteleiro will moderate a discussion with two attorneys who played a lead role in a watershed victory at the Iowa Supreme Court: ACLU of Iowa Legal Director Rita Bettis Austen and Nixon Peabody attorney Seth Horvath.

Julia, Rita, and Seth will discuss these transformative cases and talk about how attorneys can use their legal skills to advocate for the rights of transgender people at home and across the country.

Speakers

About Rita Bettis Austin

Rita Bettis Austen is the legal director of the ACLU of Iowa. As legal director, she oversees the legal program’s efforts to promote and protect the basic rights and freedoms of all Iowans through litigation. In this role, she has brought cases championing voting rights, freedom of speech and religion, racial justice, gender equality, reproductive freedom, LGBTQ equality, immigrants’ rights, fair sentencing for juveniles, and the rights of the accused. Before becoming legal director, she also worked as a staff attorney for the ACLU of Iowa. She is a graduate of the University of Iowa College of Law.

Continuing Education

This course is eligible for 1.0 CLE credit (0.5 DEI & 0.5 General). Click here for Nixon Peabody continuing education details.

Back to top