Nixon Peabody partner elected president of Rhode Island Bar Association

July 01, 2016

Chief Communications Officer
Allison McClain

Providence, RI. Nixon Peabody is proud to announce that Armando E. Batastini has assumed the presidency of the Rhode Island Bar Association. Following his election by the bar association membership, Armando’s term begins officially July 1, 2016, and runs through June 30, 2017.

Founded in 1898, the objectives of the Rhode Island Bar Association are to uphold and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States and the Constitution and laws of Rhode Island. The bar association also works to maintain representative, democratic government; to advance the science of jurisprudence; to promote the administration of justice; to uphold the honor and dignity of the process of law; and to apply its knowledge and experience in the field of the law to the promotion of the public good.

A partner in the Providence office, Armando is a commercial and real estate litigator and is leader of the Distressed Commercial Debt Litigation team. Armando represents businesses and owners in a wide variety of contractual, shareholder and commercial realty disputes. He devotes a large portion of his practice to representing holders of commercial debt in all aspects of work-outs, foreclosures, receiverships and guaranty enforcement actions.

A graduate of the United States Naval Academy, Armando served as an officer in the United States Navy, and is an Operation Desert Storm veteran. He received his law degree from Roger Williams University School of Law, magna cum laude, and served as judicial law clerk for Rhode Island Supreme Court Chief Justice Joseph R. Weisberger. Armando is a member of the Rhode Island Bar Association Executive Committee and House of Delegates, and a fellow of the Rhode Island Bar Foundation. He has served on several standing bar committees, and actively participates in the Volunteer Lawyer Program, Lawyers for the Elderly, and the Armed Forces Legal Services Project. Armando is the recipient of the bar association’s 2008 Pro Bono Publico Award.

Back to top