ITC 337条款程序

凭借技术深度和高风险的知识产权诉讼经验,我们提供战略性和全面的法律顾问服务,帮助我们的客户成功应对美国国际贸易委员会(ITC)的快节奏的程序。

我们的方式

许多全球性知识产权纠纷涉及ITC的337条款调查。拥有复杂、技术性和“赌注型”知识产权纠纷的成熟老练公司正在选择ITC的加速程序和广泛的补救命令,作为美国联邦地区法院诉讼的有效替代或补充。

由于337条款的调查通常会在八到十个月内进入审判阶段,调查结果可能会对企业的底线、供应链甚至企业存续产生重要影响。因此,聘请一个对特殊复杂的ITC程序和337条款诉讼技术问题有独到见解的并能随时参与审判活动的团队至关重要。

我们在所有涉及知识产权的一系列行业的337条款调查中代理了申诉人和被申诉人。包括:LED照明、消费电子和产品、汽车、计算机软件和硬件。我们专注的ITC团队拥有丰富的知识和经验,能够应对337条款调查的各个方面。我们是首批代理大学作为ITC唯一申诉人的律师事务所之一。我们ITC诉讼的成功得益于我们对ITC的程序规则、法律体系、证据听证会和行政法法官的深刻理解。

当调查同时涉及美国联邦地区法院进行的诉讼或专利审判和上诉委员会的授予后程序时,我们的律师还协调了并行程序中的陈述。

我们的核心ITC团队包括知识产权律师、专利代理人、技术专家、具有博士资格的研究科学家和具有行业技术背景的从业者。我们成员的经验提供了必要的基础知识,可以从战略性地为涉及337条款调查的各种类型的知识产权问题配备专业人员。

有代表性的专利诉讼经验

  • 代理The Regents of the University of California 在一项开创性的专利执法运动中保护其在被称为“灯丝发光二极管” 的革命性的新一代灯泡技术。该项技术由加州大学圣塔巴巴拉分校的诺贝尔奖得主带领的团队发明的。该活动包括在美国国际贸易委员会、加利福尼亚中区和纽约东区的美国联邦地区法院以及美国专利商标局的专利审判和上诉委员会的诉讼活动。某些灯丝发光二极管和含有相同(II)的产品(ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1220);以及某些灯丝发光二极管和含有它们的产品(ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1172)
  • 代理 Solas OLED Ltd.,该公司是专注于有机发光二极管(OLED)市场的技术的主要所有者和许可方,参与针对Samsung BOE和 Technology Group作为被申诉人的涉及OLED显示设备专利侵权的337条款调查。该项调查于2021年2月开始,现正在进行中。某些有源矩阵OLED显示设备及其组件 (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1243)
  • 代理全球快速诊断试剂生产商Chemtron Biotech, Inc.,针对ARK Diagnostics, Inc. 进行337条款调查,指控其专利侵权。调查于2021年1月开始,现正在进行中。某些加巴喷丁免疫分析试剂盒和试纸条、其组件及其方法 (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1239)
  • 代理Price Point NY,该公司销售汽化和吸烟配件,针对申诉人Juul Labs,Inc.进行337条款调查,指控其专利侵权。在听证会之前达成对客户有利的和解。某些汽化器筒及其部件(ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1211)
  • 代理全球领先的厨具、餐具和家庭使用的其他产品供应商Life Brands,针对申诉人L&L Candle Company进行337条款调查,指控其专利侵权。在对权利要求解释做出决定性判定后,达成了对客户有利的和解。某些电子蜡烛产品及其组件(ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1195)
  • 代理拥有 Schick、Playtex、Hawaiian Tropic 和 Edge 等多个品牌的美国消费品公司 Edgewell Personal Care Co. 处理涉及进口到美国、进口销售以及在进口某些剃须刀头、组件和产品后在美国境内销售涉嫌侵权而进行的337条款调查。主审行政法官根据和解协议批准了终止调查的联合动议。剃须盒及其部件和含有剃须盒的产品(ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1079)
  • 代理国际服装零售商Hennes & Mauritz AB(H&M)进行调查,其在一项涉及激光研磨牛仔布以使其看起来“老化”的调查中被指控专利侵权。该项调查和相关的联邦地区法院诉讼在听证会前得到了对客户有利的和解。某些激光研磨牛仔布服饰(ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-930)
  • 在涉及进口USB闪存驱动器和嵌入式固件的专利侵权调查中,成功代理Kingston Technology,其主要从事开发、制造、销售和支持闪存产品及其他存储器相关产品。所有针对客户提出的指控在审判前被撤回。某些通用串行总线(“USB”)便携式存储设备,包括USB闪存驱动器及其组件 (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-788)
  • 成功代理研究、开发、制造和销售高集成度和高精度集成电路的ChipMOS Technologies在一项涉及半导体封装方法的调查。对客户的指控的都在审前撤回。具有最小芯片封装尺寸的半导体芯片和含有相同(IV)的产品 (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-649)
  • 在一项涉及封装DRAM芯片和存储卡的专利侵权调查中,成功代理领先的内存供应商ProMOS Technologies和 Kingston Technology Corporation。最初和最终的裁定都是对我们的客户有利的。联邦巡回法院也在上诉阶段支持了这些裁定。同时请求最高法院审理下级法院上诉的申请也被拒绝,这对客户有利的。具有最小芯片封装尺寸的某些半导体芯片和含有相同(III)的产品 (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-630)
Back to top

ITC Section 337 Proceedings



With technical depth and high-stakes IP litigation experience, we provide strategic and comprehensive counsel to help our clients successfully navigate the fast-paced proceedings of the United States International Trade Commission (ITC).

Our Approach

Many global IP disputes include Section 337 investigations at the ITC. Sophisticated companies with complex, technical, and “bet the company” IP disputes are choosing the ITC’s accelerated proceedings and broad remedial orders as an effective alternative or complement to U.S. District Court litigation.

Because Section 337 investigations typically advance to trial in about eight to ten months, the results can significantly influence a business’s bottom line, supply chain, or even its continued existence. Consequently, it is pivotal to hire a trial-ready team that understands the unique and complex ITC procedures and technical issues of Section 337 litigation.

We have represented both complainants and respondents in Section 337 investigations across a spectrum of industries including LED lighting, consumer electronics and products, automotive, and computer software and hardware in matters involving all forms of IP. Our dedicated ITC team has extensive knowledge and experience navigating all aspects of Section 337 investigations. We are one of the first law firms to represent a university as a sole ITC complainant. Our success litigating at the ITC is a result of our deep understanding of the ITC’s procedural rules, body of law, evidentiary hearings, and administrative law judges.

Our lawyers have also coordinated representations in parallel proceedings when investigations involve concurrent litigation in federal district courts or post-grant proceedings before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board.

Our core ITC team includes IP attorneys, patent agents, technical specialists, and PhD-qualified research scientists and practitioners with backgrounds working in the technology industry. Our collective experience provides the foundational knowledge necessary to strategically staff every type of IP issue that involves a Section 337 investigation.

Representative Patent Litigation Experience

  • Represent The Regents of the University of California in a groundbreaking patent enforcement campaign to protect its rights in a revolutionary new generation of light bulb technology known as filament LED that was invented by a Nobel laureate-led team at UC Santa Barbara. The campaign includes litigation before the U.S. International Trade Commission, the U.S. District Courts for the Central District of California and Eastern District of New York, and the Patent Trial and Appeal Board at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Certain Filament Light-Emitting Diodes and Products Containing Same (II) (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1220); and Certain Filament Light-Emitting Diodes and Products Containing Same (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1172)
  • Represent Solas OLED Ltd., the leading owner and licensor of technology focused on the organic light-emitting diode (OLED) market, in a Section 337 investigation against respondents Samsung and BOE Technology Group relating to patent infringement of respondents’ OLED displays. The investigation was instituted in February 2021, and is ongoing. Certain Active Matrix OLED Display Devices and Components Thereof (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1243)
  • Represent Chemtron Biotech, Inc., which manufactures global rapid diagnostic tests, in a Section 337 investigation against complainant ARK Diagnostics, Inc., alleging patent infringement. The investigation was instituted in January 2021, and is ongoing. Certain Gabapentin Immunoassay Kits and Test Strips, Components Thereof, and Methods Therefor (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1239)
  • Represented Price Point NY, which sells vaping and smoking accessories, in a Section 337 investigation against complainant Juul Labs, Inc., alleging patent infringement. The investigation settled favorably prior to hearing. Certain Vaporizer Cartridges and Components Thereof (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1211)
  • Represented Lifetime Brands, a leading global provider of kitchenware, tableware, and other products used in the home, in a Section 337 investigation against complainant L&L Candle Company, alleging patent infringement. The investigation settled favorably after a dispositive claim construction ruling. Certain Electronic Candle Products and Components Thereof (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1195)
  • Represented Edgewell Personal Care Company, an American consumer products company that owns a number of brands, including Schick, Playtex, Hawaiian Tropic, and Edge, in a Section 337 investigation involving the importation into the U.S., the sale for importation, and the sale within the U.S. after importation of certain shaving cartridges, components, and products by reason of infringement. The presiding administrative law judge granted a joint motion to terminate the investigation based on a settlement agreement. Shaving Cartridges, Components Thereof and Products Containing Same (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1079)
  • Represented Hennes & Mauritz AB (H&M), an international clothing retailer, in an investigation alleging patent infringement involving technologies related to lasers used to abrade denim to make it look “aged.” The investigation and the related district court litigation settled favorably prior to hearing. Certain Laser Abraded Denim Garments (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-930)
  • Successfully represented Kingston Technology, which develops, manufactures, sells, and supports flash memory products and other memory-related products, in a patent infringement investigation involving imported USB flash drives and embedded firmware. All the allegations against the client were withdrawn on the eve of trial. Certain Universal Serial Bus (“USB”) Portable Storage Devices, Including USB Flash Drives and Components Thereof (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-788)
  • Successfully represented ChipMOS Technologies, which researches, develops, manufactures, and sells high integration and high precision integrated circuits, in an investigation involving semiconductor packaging methods. The allegations against the client were withdrawn pre-trial. Semiconductor Chips with Minimized Chip Package Size and Products Containing Same (IV) (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-649)
  • Successfully represented ProMOS Technologies, a leading memory provider, and Kingston Technology Corporation in a patent infringement investigation involving packaged DRAM chips and memory cards. The initial and final determinations were granted in favor of our clients. The determinations were also affirmed by the Federal Circuit on appeal. A Cert Petition was denied in the client’s favor. Certain Semiconductor Chips with Minimized Chip Package Size and Products Containing Same (III) (ITC Inv. No. 337-TA-630)

ITC has eyes on IP talent in search for new judge

Law360 | April 02, 2021

Washington, D.C. Intellectual Property partner Evan Langdon, leader of the firm’s International Trade Commission Section 337 team, is quoted in this article on the U.S. ITC’s search for a new administrative law judge to replace the retiring Sandra "Dee" Lord.

ITC Launches Fake Eyelash, Computer Gear , OLED Probes

Law360 | October 26, 2020

This roundup of recently announced investigations by the U.S. International Trade Commission covers the ITC’s announcement that it is looking into allegations that various organic light-emitting diode (OLED) imports were infringing patents held by Solas OLED. The story mentions Washington, D.C. partner Evan Langdon and Chicago associates Paulina Starostka and Vivian Sandoval, all of the Intellectual Property group, for representing Solas.

Back to top