COVID-19 travel restrictions now include Brazil

BY Jason Gerrol

While some regions are cautiously lifting stay-at-home orders, other regions such as Brazil continue to see high rates of COVID-19 infection. As a result, on May 24, 2020, President Trump issued a proclamation suspending entry into the United States of certain immigrant and non-immigrant travelers who were physically present in Brazil during the 14-day period prior to their attempted entry to the U.S. While the president initially indicated the proclamation would go into effect at 11:59 p.m. ET on May 28, 2020, the proclamation was later amended to reflect an effective date of May 26, 2020. The proclamation will remain in effect until terminated by the president.

Brazil now joins the following list of countries with identical travel suspensions: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland (collectively, the Schengen Area), the United Kingdom, Ireland, China, and Iran.

Importantly, the COVID-19-related travel suspensions do not apply to U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents and their immediate families, as well as select travelers such as members of the U.S. Armed Forces. In addition, travelers who can demonstrate they would not pose a risk of transmitting COVID-19, and/or their entry is in the national interest, may be eligible to enter the U.S., although such exceptions are rare.

U.S. citizens, lawful permanent residents, and others exempt from the travel suspension and returning to the United States will need to undergo enhanced medical screenings at designated airports. As of the date of this post, there are 15 such airports:

  • Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts

  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois

  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas

  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan

  • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii

  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL), Florida

  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), Texas

  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia

  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York

  • Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), California

  • Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida

  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey

  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California

  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington

  • Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia

COVID-19 travel restrictions are rapidly evolving, and travelers should be sure to check the latest travel restrictions before planning any international travel.

author img


Jason Gerrol

Of Counsel

Posts By this author